What is the Order of the Amaranth?

Founded in 1873, the Order of the Amaranth is a Masonic order that was established for Master Masons and their related women. It is often confused with the Order of the Eastern Star, but is not the same entity.


The idea for the order was taken from the Order of Amarante, a group created by Queen Christina of Sweden in 1653 for knights and their ladies. Let’s take a look at how the order developed over time to become a notable appendant body of Freemasonry.

The establishment of the Order of the Amaranth is credited to James B. Taylor in 1860, who created a fraternal society that mirrored some of the structure and teachings of Freemasonry. By 1873, Robert Macoy added structure to Taylor’s order and it became known as the Order of Amaranth, which was an essential component of the new Adoptive Rite of Masonry proposed at the time.

Teachings within the Order are based upon Christianity, and members are constantly reminded of their duty to God, their country, and their fellow beings. Central to the teachings is the ‘Golden Rule,’ and those within are encouraged to conform to the virtues of truth, faith, wisdom, and charity.

The structure of the Order of Amaranth is somewhat unique, as it is arranged into ‘Courts’ at state level. Within these Courts, women are addressed as ‘Honoured Lady’ while men are referred to as ‘Sir Knight.’ Each court has a number of officers, including:

Royal Matron, Royal Patron
Associate Matron, Associate Patron
Secretary, Treasurer
Associate Conductress
Marshal in the East
Marshal in the West
Standard Bearer

Like all Masonic orders, the Order of Amaranth is heavily involved in charitable work. Their focal philanthropic venture is the Amaranth Diabetes Foundation, which has raised over $16 million to fund research projects to work towards a cure for diabetes.

For more information about the Order of the Amaranth, you can visit their website.


Join over 150000 people who want to learn more about The largest Brotherhood

Scroll to Top